Connecting Coaches, Creatives, & Curious Folks through what's emerging in this moment

It’s Opener There

Seuss Wide Open AirFor years I’ve been reading Dr. Seuss’s “Oh the Places you’ll Go!” with great enthusiasm to groups of adults ‘kindergarten style’ celebrating the wonderful way Seuss invites us all to boldly claim our lives. “Except when you don’t, because sometimes you won’t” has become a philosophy of life, always reminding me to stay optimistic and believe in possibilities, while knowing there’s always a chance things won’t go as planned. Dashing boldly out into the wide open spaces where “it’s opener there in the wide open air” , however, has not always been my forte. Though some may disagree, in my book, I often play it safe.

A month or two ago, my mother was griping about our endless winter. Though she’s not what I’d call a complainer, around March each year the weather whining starts. This year, the ice finally left Lake Superior on June 4th which gifted us with extra time to moan and groan about the length of winter!  After listening to her mild complaints, I casually said one day, “We could move, y’know.”

Fast forward to today; We have a signed contract for the purchase small57Fernbankof a new house in Delmar, NY!  (I know I know… it’s not exactly WARM there in winter either!) My mother’s condo is on the market with potential buyers lined up to look. When my mom makes up her mind about something, it happens in short order. That’s how she rolls.

In the midst of it all, I find myself in a most curious state. On the one hand, I have saboteurs that are having a heyday with me about being in my 50s, single, and living with my mother, moving to a state I never imagined myself living, and squeezing myself back down into one bedroom after 30 some years of being an adult with my own home. Nothing about it feels permanent to me. It’s a bit like I’m going on an extended trip and part of it will involve time travel back to my childhood. Buckle up!

On the other hand, everything about this feels Right. Capital ‘R’ Right. Deep in my bones and heart Right. It’s  right to lighten our loads. It’s right to realllly lighten MY load. It’s right to uproot and replant, even if only into a ‘for now’ pot. It feels right to move closer to family with my brother and his wife just blocks away from Mom’s new house. It feels right that it’s “Mom’s house” and not “our house”. It feels right to get her to a place with 2  more weeks to enjoy Fall and Spring than we have in the U.P. of Michigan. The list of Rights is endless.

UnknownThis move feels like a scenic overlook for me. I’m on the road now, but can’t see the view from here. I need to pull over to the viewing point to see where I’m really going. Life is dangling opportunities before me that will require a lighter load and unbound roots if “Yes” will be an option. My partner awaits, we just haven’t met yet. The peak of my career is around the bend. The place I belong awaits being discovered.  Every part of me is trusting these things as one foot gets placed before the other. Left. Right. Left. Right. Step by letting go step.

Is this the way it’s supposed to be in Life? Where we just need to know enough to act, but not so much that it’s all figured out? Sometimes when I over-figure things I think I block the flow of what’s trying to happen. My job is to grab my machete and clear the path for the natural flow to take my life where it’s longing to go.

How about you? Where is this true for you? Where do you know enough to act?  Where is your addiction to certainty getting in the way? Let’s GO, shall we? (Let Go, shall we?) As Dr. Seuss says so well:

“So…
be your name Buxbaum or Bixby or Bray
or Mordecai Ali Van Allen O’Shea,
you’re off to Great Places!
Today is your day!
Your mountain is waiting.
So…get on your way!”
― Dr. SeussOh, The Places You’ll Go!

See you down the road between hither and yon!

Have FUN and Travel Light,

Helen

Join me in the Wide Open Air!

Join me in the Wide Open Air!

Comments on: "It’s Opener There" (4)

  1. So . . .
    with fun and delight I read your new post,
    I followed and stirred and wondered at most,
    My Love, Helen get going!
    Pack light, as you’ll see.
    Your lover, your partner . . . could live high in a tree.

    • helenhouse said:

      Arlyn, I LOVE your Seussish reply
      it nearly makes me cry… 🙂
      It’s very possible my partner lives high in a tree.
      I hope he’ll eat green eggs and ham with me! xo

  2. This is so exciting Helen, and to remind you of what you said in my kitchen, “Your house is my house too!” Many homes will hold you now, and to be with family is such a gift at this time in our lives. I am super excited that you will be closer. Come play with me at the beach this summer for mermaid swims…

    • Thanks for the reminder, Andrea! These words are good to remember today. I’d LOVE to mermaid swim with you. We’re moving in August… I should be able to get there while the sun is still high in the late summer sky. xo

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

